Have you invested in pay per click (PPC) campaigns and had a poor experience? If the PPC ad campaigns didn’t fetch you the desired results, then you shouldn’t be discouraged to try them again. All you need to do is a bit more research before you start with your next campaign and work on optimizing your conversion rate.
Before you start working on improving your conversion rate, you should know how your ad campaigns are performing. For this purpose, you need to be aware of your existing conversion rate. Therefore, start effectively tracking the conversions that you are getting currently. The data should include all your PPC campaigns. If you are using Google AdWords, it will give you all the data from your PPC campaigns. Tracking your conversion will help you identify your best PPC campaigns and you can compare them with the poorly performing ones. However, if there’s only one campaign, then the previous months’ data should be used to compare with the current month.
When tracking your conversions, don’t forget emails you receive. At times, prospects may directly call you or leave messages on your social media channels as well. Ensure that you keep a track on all the leads you receive from the time you started with PPC campaigns. There are instances where prospects may not fill forms but get in touch with you through chats. In such situations, you may assume that your campaign is a flop which is not true. Hence, track your conversions by making use of analytical data offered by Google Analytics or you may consider choosing any analytical platform.
2. Keep Testing (A/B Split Testing)
To enhance your conversion rate, you need to keep testing different elements on your website, especially on your landing page. Testing different element on your landing page is known as A/B testing. In A/B testing, there are two variants of a webpage shown to the same group of people. The conversions are then tracked and the webpage that has a better engagement or conversion rate is then used for the rest of the campaign. Different elements that are tested include the background color, images, font style, call-to-action buttons, form fields, copy, etc. The landing page’s design influences the campaign’s conversion rate. Therefore, test different elements on your landing page to identify the ones that have a good conversion rate. When you’ve completed one element, move on to the next. For example, if you have figured out that “image A” is performing better than “image B”, then select the first image for the rest of your campaign. The next element that you may test can be the color or the copy of the landing page.
It’s important to note that there is no limit to A/B testing. If one element is performing better than the other, then it does not mean that it the best option available. However, it does not mean that you keep on testing the same elements multiple times unless your campaign period is going to last for months.
3. Align Ad Copy with Landing Pages
Let’s take, for instance, you see an ad on Google search, you click on it and you find something completely different when you reach the landing page. What will you do? If the landing page does not contain what you are looking for, then you will leave the website immediately. This is exactly what will happen when your ad copy does not match with your landing page. If your ad copy is meant for businesses and the landing page is providing information about job opportunities which is meant for candidates, then there’s a mismatch between the ad copy and the landing page. Visitors will immediately leave your website and you will see a high bounce rate. Moreover, each time a user clicks on your ads, you spend money. Therefore, you should see to it that once a user clicks on your ad, he is provided with relevant information so that he can be converted into a client. This strategy will also enhance your quality score and so, your cost per click (CPC) will reduce. Quality score is a key indicator to predict the performance of your ad campaign. Google uses this quality score to measure the effectiveness of your PPC ads. A high-quality score indicates that your ad copy is relevant and plus, it will rank your ads higher on search results and display networks.
The quality score plays an important part in reducing the overall cost of your PPC ad campaign. Therefore, you will be left with more money for your ad campaign. Also, you will see that there is an increase in the number of quality leads which will eventually help you to boost your conversion rate. Hence, ensure that you optimize your ad copy so that it aligns with your landing page.
4. Improve Your Click Through Rate (CTR)
One of the ways to improve your conversion rate is to increase the number of clicks for your ads. The click through rate is calculated by clicks divided by impressions. So, if the ad is served to 1000 people and gets clicked by 10 people, then the CTR rate will be 1%. (10/1000 * 100 = 1%) If people are barely clicking on your ads, then your conversion rate will remain low. In order to increase your conversion rate, you need to do the following:
When you start with an ad campaign, make sure that you target the right individuals. Make use of demographics, geographic location, online behavior, etc. to target the ads to the right people.
Capitalize the Title in Ad Copy
Ensure that each word begins with a capital letter in your title. People are more likely to click on the ad copy that has capitalized titles.
Place Your Ads Correctly
The position of your ads is important to get more clicks on them. To determine the right placement, you will have to test them at different positions. Ideally, the more the people see your ads, the more clicks you will receive. According to a study by Casale Media, the ads shown five times or more are 12 times more effective than the others. Hence, focus on placing your ads where it will be shown to maximum people.
Use Exact Match Keywords Types
You will get more people to click on your ads when you test different keyword match types. You can make use of exact and phrase match keywords so that your ads are placed higher in the ranks. However, if you use broad match keywords types, you reach more people than the exact match keywords types but will receive fewer clicks through rates. This is because the quality of your ads is generic in nature which means that there will be many people using the broad match keywords. As a result, all of them may not be interested in the HR services that you provide. Some of them may be searching information for educational purposes, etc. Hence, it’s best that you stick to exact match keywords types to get quality leads.
5. Use Negative Keywords
Negative keywords are those keywords for which you do not wish your ads to be shown. For example, if you do not have any job opportunities for civil engineers currently, then you may decide to add “civil engineers” as a negative keyword phrase. This way when a person types “jobs for civil engineers” or “civil engineers jobs”, your ad won’t be displayed. In other words, your ads will not be displayed when this keyword phrase is used but ads will appear when you have included other job-related keywords in your AdWords account. There are two benefits for using negative keywords. First, the users will not see your ads and so, they will be no unnecessary clicks on the PPC ads. The users do not have to waste their time going to your website only to move out of it immediately. So, your bounce rate reduces and your ad’s quality score is not affected. Secondly, since the users won’t click your ads, you do not waste your clicks.
Techwyse lists down some negative keywords that you should exclude in all your PPC ad campaigns. These keywords include free, cheap kijiji, nude, naked, torrents, YouTube, sex, Craigslist, eBay, porno, and torrent. When you expect businesses to contact you for their recruitment process, you certainly don’t want to do it for free. Therefore, you should start using negative keywords in your PPC ads to avoid your search ads been shown to irrelevant users. To add negative keywords to your list, follow these steps:
Go to your Google AdWords account and click on the Campaigns Tab.
Click on the “new negative keyword list”
Add the negative keywords in the blank space. Enter one keyword per line.
Click on the Save Button.
Adding negative keywords will reduce the web traffic but at the same time, your website will receive quality web traffic. Therefore, there is a high chance of boosting your conversion rate on account of quality web traffic to your HR website.
6. Use Remarketing
Remarketing or retargeting is one of the best strategies that marketers use to get hold of users who have visited your website before but did not convert into clients. For businesses, acquiring new business clients is very important. Also, it’s not easy to acquire new clients on their first visit to your website. Hence, if you fail to convert your prospects initially, you can try again with the help of remarketing. When you start with remarketing, the same ads are served to the same people again for some time. In this way, you get them back to your website and there is a good chance that they might convert into clients. You need to consistently use remarketing to get them back to the website. When your prospects had clicked on the ads initially, it means they have shown some interest in your services. Therefore, you should be more aggressive and repeatedly show them your PPC ads.
In this strategy, you have nothing to lose. If you do not try, you will never get your lost visitors. But if you do start with remarketing, your conversion rate can be improved. It’s important to remember that acquiring new clients is never easy but if you do get an opportunity to acquire them again, then you might as well make the most of the opportunity. Remarketing is not limited to Google AdWords only. Social media marketing, email marketing, etc. also use remarketing to get hold of cold leads.
Apart from these few ways to improve your conversion rate, use mobile marketing, provide exciting offers, and create ads based on your client’s needs. Following these tips is surely going to improve your conversion rate. When you start with PPC ad campaigns, create ads for both search and display networks as both can help you get more leads. However, you need to check how your ads are performing daily. Although managing a PPC ad campaign is a time-consuming task, you should run such campaigns if you want to improve conversions and scale your business operations. In case you are unable to manage your PPC campaigns, then take the help of a digital marketing firm. The experience and the expertise of a professional firm will definitely allow you to make your PPC ad campaigns successful.
Ali Salman is an online marketing strategist who have worked with Coca-Cola, Extreme Pita, Mucho Burrito, KIA, Honda and other Fortune 500 companies. Ali Salman now heads Rapid Boost Marketing – Canada’s fastest growing search marketing agency. RBM clients include Fortune 500’s and medium size businesses across North America. Ali as RBM CMO leads his team in building and managing quality, high-performing and cost-effective interactive campaigns and programs for our company’s customers and partners. In his career, he has significantly improved campaign performance for large brands such as Government of Alberta, Liberal Party, Workopolis, Cathay Pacific, as well as medium to large retailers and high-tech B2B-enterprise niches.
Ali and his team develop online promotional concepts that spark viral growth through search and social media for RBM clients, devising strategies that use search engines and more to reach key demographic segments in the ways they’re most likely to be receptive. Ali Salman also oversees corporate marketing initiatives for Rapid Boost Marketing, including strategic communications counsel, public and analyst relations and client education programming.
Ali Salman is an online marketing strategist who have worked with Coca-Cola, Extreme Pita, Mucho Burrito, KIA, Honda and other Fortune 500 companies. Ali Salman now heads Rapid Boost Marketing - Canada's fastest growing search marketing agency. RBM clients include Fortune 500's and medium size businesses across North America. Ali as RBM CMO leads his team in building and managing quality, high-performing and cost-effective interactive campaigns and programs for our company's customers and partners. In his career, he has significantly improved campaign performance for large brands such as Government of Alberta, Liberal Party, Workopolis, Cathay Pacific, as well as medium to large retailers and high-tech B2B-enterprise niches.
Ali and his team develop online promotional concepts that spark viral growth through search and social media for RBM clients, devising strategies that use search engines and more to reach key demographic segments in the ways they're most likely to be receptive. Ali Salman also oversees corporate marketing initiatives for Rapid Boost Marketing, including strategic communications counsel, public and analyst relations and client education programming.